EnGen Alumni Network

The mission of the EnGen Alumni Network is a continuation of the Energy Generation Leadership Program’s objectives. As the Alumni Network develops, its goals are to:

  • Continue to empower alumni through education;
  • Engage with industry leaders;
  • Unite professionals from diverse facets of industry;
  • Establish relationships with the community through outreach projects; and
  • Improve industry retention of future leaders.

The additional objectives for Alumni include the following:

  • Develop EnGen Alumni as future leaders in the industry through COGA participation;
  • Introduce alumni to the new participants in EnGen to foster relationships and expand their industry network

Participation in the EnGen Alumni Network includes the following opportunities:

  • Networking events with both alumni and new EnGen classes;
  • Continued industry education sessions;
  • Participation in and leadership opportunities through the Alumni Network Committees;
  • Exclusive volunteer opportunities at high-profile industry events;
  • Annual volunteer events; and
  • Peer mentoring with new EnGen classes.

EnGen Alumni of the Year

2017 – Kathleen Madigan, PDC Energy

2016 – Jason Stewart, Baker Hughes

2015 – Brett Forkner, LT Environmental

Alumni Network Committees

Community Engagement Committee

The Community Engagement Committee is committed to serving the volunteer needs of the Denver Metro Area and beyond by coordinating two major volunteer opportunities each year. The goal of the committee is to establish the EnGen Alumni Network as having a credible volunteer presence in the areas in which we live and work. The committee will meet bi-annually to coordinate upcoming events.

Chairs: Drew Laviage (Co-Chair), Peter Travers – Caerus Oil and Gas (Co-Chair)

Curriculum Committee

The EnGen Curriculum Committee works alongside COGA leadership to develop thoughtful curriculum that provides program and alumni members with a comprehensive approach to professional development. The committee will advise on the curriculum for the current EnGen class, but will mainly focus efforts on the EnGen alumni network. The curriculum committee meets two scheduled times per year and more often will act as advisors to fill openings or find specialized topics.

Chairs:  Richard Whittington – QEP Resources (Chair), Derek Pimm – Crescent Point Energy (Vice Chair)

Mentorship Committee

The purpose of the Mentorship Committee is to initiate and encourage mentoring relationships both within the alumni network and between the alumni network and new classes of EnGen. Initial responsibilities include overseeing the Peer Mentorship program as part of the EnGen curriculum and periodically evaluating the program from both the EnGen and alumni perspective to identify improvements. As the alumni network grows, this committee will respond to the needs of the alumni network for further mentorship opportunities by developing the tools or programs necessary to meet these needs.

The committee will meet with the following schedule: January – Meet to review EnGen class roster and begin assigning peer mentors; First week in April – Discuss mentorship session; End of May – discuss how mentor session went and plan group event; Late July – discuss group activity, how pairings are working, and provide feedback; November/December – introduce new members and go over upcoming year’s plans.

Chairs:  Craig McMillin (Co-Chair), Brandon Meyer – CH2M (Co-Chair)

Social Committee

The social committee plans events and outings for EnGen alumni with goals of providing community and camaraderie, and networking. Some committee activities include happy hours, informal lunch gatherings, sports leagues, and special outings. Committee goals include establishing a foundation of social events that are repeatable in future years, focusing on inclusion of all alumni members when planning and scheduling events, and forming a stable and lasting committee that balances members’ tasks with time available. The social committee will plan quarterly networking events for the EnGen alumni group. The social committee will meet bi-annually for one hour to plan and organize upcoming events.

Chairs: Ashley Pedersen – Anadarko Petroleum Corporation (Tri-Chair), Kevin Wolfe – Stantec (Tri-Chair), Cass Terry – Resolute Energy (Tri-Chair)